Professor DaSilva was born in Brazil and spent most of his life in the US. After receiving BSc and MSc degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Kansas, he worked for IBM for six years.

Wim is a researcher at the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation, based in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Dr. António Augusto Fröhlich is currently an Associate Professor at the Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC), where he also leads the Software/Hardware Integration Lab (LISHA) since 2001.

Demi Getschko has been involved in international networking since 1987 and took part on the team that established the first Internet connection to Brazil. He has been a member of the Brazilian Internet Steering Committee ( since its creation.

Alfredo Goldman is Associate Professor at the University of São Paulo (USP), Brazil. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Grenoble’s Polytechnic Institute in 1999, and his thesis addressed scheduling on Parallel Computing.

 Doctor, (EPM - UNIFESP), data processing technologist (FATEC-SP), PhD and Master in electrical engineering (EPUSP). She is a researcher at IBM Research Brazil, a professor at FATEC-SP and manages in the IPT master's program.

Antonio J. Jara (CEO), founder of HOP Ubiquitous S.L. (, vice-chair of the IEEE Communications Society Internet of Things Technical Committee, and adjoint scientifique in the University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland.

Carlos has a bachelor's at Computing Science from Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (1989), master's at Computer Science from Universidade Estadual de Campinas (1994) and doctorate at Computer Science from Universidade Federal de Pernambuco (2003).

Flávio holds, since 2010, a permanent position at the Brazilian Central Bank currently working in the Systems Architectural Division.

Thiago is the Secretary of Informatics Policy of the Ministry of Science, Technology, Innovations and Communications (MCTIC) since October 2017.

Full Professor in Software Engineering and Director of the Institute of Mathematical and Computer Sciences (ICMC-USP, 2010-2014).